The MOTHER Of All Days

STAY in bed mom. This is the MOTHER of all days! “

I first heard those words from my daughters about 16 years ago and haven’t  really gotten that quote out of my head.  On Mother’s Day morning my two daughters, ages 8 and 6, rushed into my bedroom handing me magazines to read  and instructions to stay in bed because they and their dad were going to cook a special breakfast for me  and deliver it to my lap. They left the room and subsequently returned in waitress mode, donning aprons and carrying pencils and notepads to take my order. Like singer Tim McGraw says….you just don’t forget somethin’ like that.

Mother’s Day Denver Scramble (recipe below)

Clanging, chopping, be-careful-with-that-KNIFE instructions, daddy-how-do-I questions, backyard flower snipping, and excited she’s-gonna-be-surprised conversations could be heard from my upstairs perch as the chefs went to work.

Delivery included two big smiles and two little girls sitting next to me on the bed reminding me to smell my flowers on the nightstand between bites. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted better cooking than those mother’s day breakfasts through the years. To this day I absolutely love it when my daughter cooks for me.

She is now now 24 years old, engaged to be married…and coming over on Mother’s Day with our future son-in-law and BOTH WILL COOK breakfast for me. Nothing could be better.

Oh…and I’m pretty sure the ‘mother of all days’ quote

came directly from their dad.

 

Denver Scramble (origin)
2 tbs unsalted butter
1 small brown onion, diced
1 small green capsicum, deseeded and cubed
1 small red capsicum, deseeded and cubed
185g ham, cubed
8 eggs, beated
salt & groung white pepper
60g tasty cheese, grated
shallots, chooped for garnish- Melt butter in trying pan over medium heat. Add onion, capsicums and saute. Add ham and saute further.
– Add eggs to pan, season to taste over medium-low heat. Stirring until eggs form soft, moist curds. Stir in cheese.
– When done garnish with shallots.
 
One thought on “The MOTHER Of All Days

Leave a Reply

